Former Bishops and Archbishops


1533 Francisco de Melo. Died in Lisbon on the eve of his departure to Goa.
1539-1553 João Afonso de Albuquerque. Died in 1553.



1560-1567 Gaspar de Leão Pereira. Consecrated in April, 1560. Resigned in 1567.


1568-1571 Jorge Temudo, Dominican. Consecrated in 1557. Transferred from Cochin.
Died in 1571.
1574-1576 Gaspar de Leão Pereira (second time). Died on 15th August, 1576.
1578-1581 Henrique de Távora e Brito, Dominican. Died on 17th May, 1581.
1582-1587 João Vicente da Fonseca, Dominican.
1588-1592 Mateus de Medina, Order of Christ, transferred from the Diocese of Cochin.
Resigned in 1592 and died on 29th July, 1593.
1595-1609 Aleixo de Menezes, Augustinian. Consecrated on 26th March, 1595.
Transferred to Archdiocese of Braga (Portugal). Died in Madrid on 3rd May, 1617.
1613-1622 Cristóvão de Sá e Lisboa, Congregation of St. Jerome. Died in1622.
1625-1629 Sebastião de S. Pedro, Augustinian. Died in 1629.
1633 Manuel Teles de Brito, Dominican. Died at sea on the way to Goa. Buried in Goa.
1636-1652 Francisco dos Mártires, Franciscan. Died in 1652.
The See of Goa remained vacant for 19 years after his death.
1671-1673 Cristóvão da Silveira, Augustinian. Died in 1673.
1675-1678 António Brandão, Order of Christ. Died in 1684.
1681-1684 Manuel de Sousa e Menezes. Died in1684.
1675-1679 Alberto da Silva, Augustinian. Died in 1688.
1691-1713 Agostinho da Anunciação, Order of Christ. Died in1713.
1716-1720 Sebastião de Andrade Pessanha. Resigned in 1720. Died in Lisbon in1737.
1721-1740 Inácio de Santa Teresa, Augustinian. Transferred to the Diocese of Faro.
Died in 1751.
1740-1741 Eugénio de Trigueiros, Augustinian. Died in 1741.
1741-1750 Lourenço de Santa Maria e Melo, Franciscan. Resigned in 1750.
1750-1773 António Taveira da Neiva Brum e Silveira, Order of St. James.
Resigned in 1773.
1774-1783 Francisco da Assunção e Brito, Augustinian. Resigned in 1783.
1784-1812 Manuel de Santa Catarina, Discalced Carmelite. Died in 1812.
1812-1831 Manuel de S. Galdino, Reformed Franciscan. Died in 1831.
1844-1849 José Maria da Silva Torres. Died in 1854.
1862-1874 João Crisóstomo de Amorim Pessoa. Resigned in 1874.
1875-1879 Aires de Ornelas e Vasconcelos. Died in 1880.
1882-1886 António Sebastião Valente. Invested with the title of
Patriarch of the East Indies on 23-6-1886.


Golden Verse

1Korintkarank 7:38

Mhonnttôch aplê ankvar hoklê lagim logn zata to borem korta; ani logn zaina to odik borem korta.