The Archdiocese of Goa and Daman

The Archdiocese of Goa and Daman was erected on 4th February, 1557, and presently comprises Goa, Daman, Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli.


Patron of the Archdiocese: Blessed Joseph Vaz.


Archbishop-Patriarch: Most Rev. Filipe Neri Ferrão


Archbishop-Patriarch Emeritus: Most Rev. Raul Nicolau Gonsalves



Archbishop's House,

P.O. Box 216,

Altinho, PANAJI,

Goa   -  403



Total Catholic Population: 5,25,000 approx.
Total Population of the Archdiocese: 16,00,000


Languages: Konkani, English, Marathi, Portuguese, Gujarati, Hindi.


Telephone (STD) Codes:
Goa                                      0832
Daman, Dadra, Nagar Haveli   0260
Diu                                       02875

The basic statistics of the Archdiocese:

Parishes : 167

Diocesan Priests : 364

Religious Priests : 290


The Archdiocese is divided into larger areas for the convenience of jurisdiction and coordination. These areas are called Zones. There are three zones: North, Central and South and each of them is overseen by an Episcopal Vicar.


The Archdiocese is divided into eighteen Deaneries ( Vicariates Forane) and one unit, similar to Deanery, known as the "Mission" of Daman. Each Deanery is overseen by a Dean or Vicar Forane and the Mission of Daman by the Mission Superior.


The Parish is the basic unit of the Local Church. The Parish comprises of Small Christian Communities ( Samudais)and families that are given the Pastoral care by the Parish priest. Parishes include Chapels, and certain established Chapels have resident Chaplains.





Golden Verse

1Korintkarank 7:38

Mhonnttôch aplê ankvar hoklê lagim logn zata to borem korta; ani logn zaina to odik borem korta.